N. Chrysos is awarded the EU Literature Prize

Posted on Posted in News - Releases

Nikos Chrysos is expected to be awarded the European Union Literature Prize (EUPL) for his book “New Day” (Kastaniotis, 2018) on Wednesday, October 2, 2019, in Brussels.

In addition to Nikos Chrysos, this year’s European Literary Prize winners are: Laura Freudenthaler (Austria), Piia Leino (Finland), Sophie Daull (France), Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary), Beqa Adamashvili (Georgia), Jan Carson (Ireland), Giovanni Dozzini (Italy), Daina Opolskaitė (Lithuania), Marta Dzido (Poland), Tatiana Βibuleac (Romania), Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia), Haska Shyyan (Ukraine) and Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom).

What is the European Literature Award

This award is open to 41 European countries participating in the EU’s Creative Europe program. Each year, one-third of the participating countries award a national author selected by national judges. That way, all countries and all languages ​​are represented at the EU Literary Awards within a three-year cycle.

The first round was from 2009 to 2011 with Greek winner Costas Chatziantoniou. The second round was from 2012 to 2014 with Greek winner Makis Tsitas, while the third round (2015-2017) was won by Kallia Papadakis from Greece. 2019 marks the start of the fourth cycle of European Literature Awards.

In 2018 the European Literature Awards celebrated their 10th anniversary with a written competition among the 108 previous winners.